Festival de Cannes

Founded in 1946, the Cannes Film Festival is the most important of its kind, both for its artistic as for its economical success. With President Pierre Lescure (2014 following Gilles Jacob) and Festival Delegate Thierry Frémaux it offers, alongside the International Competition, the sections Un certain régard, the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs (Directors' Fortnight) and the Semaine Internationale de la Critique (Critics' Week). The first Catholic OCIC jury was established in 1952, the first Protestant INTERFILM jury in 1969. Since 1974 the Catholic and the Protestant film organisations appoint an Ecumenical Jury.

Festival History: 


Awards 1969-1973

Between 1969 and 1973 an INTERFILM-Jury awarded prizes in Cannes.



Easy Rider by Dennis Hopper and Peter Fonda, USA, 1968



Harry Munter by Kjell Grede, Sweden, 1969



The Go-Between by Joseph Losey, UK, 1971



Solaris by Andrej Tarkovskij, USSR, 1971



L'invitation by Claude Goretta, Switzerland, France, 1973


Awards since 1974

Since 1974, INTERFILM is represented at the International Cannes Film Festival by an Ecumenical Jury.



Angst essen Seele auf (Fear Eats Out the Soul) by Rainer Werner Fassbinder, FRG 1974


Jeder für sich und Gott gegen alle (Enigme de Kaspar Hauser/Every Man for Himself and God Against All) by Werner Herzog, FRG 1974

1976 No Award


J.A. Martin, Photographe by Jean Beaudin, Canada 1977
ex aequo
La Dentellière (The Lacemaker) by Claude Goretta, Switzerland 1977


L´Albero Degli Zoccoli (Tree of Wooden Clogs/Der Holzschuhbaum /L´Arbre aux Sabots) by Ermanno Olmi, Italy 1978
Special Mention
Spirala (Spirale/La Spirale/The Spiral) by Krysztof Zanussi, Poland 1978


Bez znieczulenia (Sans anesthésie/Without Anesthetic) by Andrzej Wadja, Poland 1979
Special Mention
Arven (Heritage/Das Erbe) by Anja Breien, Norway 1979


Constans (Constancy/La Constance) by Krysztof Zanussi, Poland 1980
Special Award
Stalker by Andreï Tarkovsky, USSR 1980


Czlowickz Zelaza (L´Homme de Fer/Man of Iron) by Andrzej Wajda, Poland 1981
Special Mentions
Chariots of Fire (Die Stunde des Siegers/Les Chariots de Feu) by Hugh Hudson, UK 1981
Looks and Smiles (Regards et Sourires) by Kenneth Loach, UK 1981


La Notte di San Lorenzo (Die Nacht von San Lorenzo/La Nuit de San Lorenzo/St. Lawrence´s Night) by Paolo Taviani und Vottorio Taviani, Italy 1982
Special Mentions
Yol (Der Weg/L´Issue/The Issue) by Yilmaz Guney, Turkey 1982
L´Ombre de la Terre (The Shadow of the Earth/Sombra de la tierra) by Taieb Louhichi, Tunesie 1982


Nostalghia by Andreï Tarkovsky, USSR 1983


Paris, Texas by Wim Wenders, FRG 1984
Special Mention
Los Santos Inocentes (Die heiligen Narren /Les Saints Innocents/The Holy Innocents) by Mario Camus, Spain 1984


La Historia Oficial (Die offizielle Geschichte /L`Histoire Officielle/The Official Version) by Luis Puenzo, Argentinia 1985
Special Mention
Le Temps d´un Instant (El Tiempo de un Instant) by Pierre Jallaud, France 1985


Offret (The Sacrifice/Le Sacrifice) by Andreï Tarkovsky, USSR 1986
Special Mention
Thérèse by Alain Cavalier, France 1986


Pokayaniye (Repentir/Repentance) by Tenguiz Abouladze, USSR
Special Mention
Babettes Gaestebud (Babette's Feast/Le Festin de Babette) by Gabriel Axel, Denmark 1987
Special Mention
Yeelen (Das Licht/La Lumière/Light) by Souleymane Cissé, Mali 1987


A World Apart (Zwei Welten/Un Monde à Part) by Chris Menges, UK 1988
Special Mention
Les Portes Tournantes (Drehtüren/The Revolving Doors) by Francis Mankiewicz, France/Canada 1988


Jésus de Montréal (Jesus von Montreal/Jesus of Montreal) by Denys Arcand, Canada 1989
Special Mentions
Kuroi Ame (Schwarzer Regen/Pluie Noire/Black Rain) by Shohei Imamura, Japan 1989
Yaaba by Idrissa Ouedraogo, Burkina Faso 1989


Stanno Tutti Bene (Allen geht´s gut/Tout le Monde Va Bien/They´re All Doing Well) by Giuseppe Tornatore, Italy 1990
Special Mentions
Hidden Agenda (Hidden Agenda – Geheimsprotokoll) by Kenneth Loach, UK 1990
Taxi Blues by Pavel Lounguine, USSR 1990


La Double Vie de Véronique (The Double Life of Veronique) by Krzysztof Kieslowski, Poland 1991
Special Mention
La Belle Noiseuse (Die schöne Querulantin) by Jacques Rivette, France 1991



Il Ladro di Bambini (The Stolen Children/Les Enfants Volés) by Gianni Amelio, Italy 1991


Libera Me by Alain Cavalier, France 1993


Huozhe (Living/Vivre!) by Zhang Yimou, China 1994
ex aequo
Utomlyonnye solntsem (Burnt By the Sun/Soleil Trompeur) by Nikita Mikhalkov, Russia 1994


Land and Freedom by Ken Loach, UK 1995


Secrets and Lies (Lügen und Geheimnisse/Secrets et Mensonges) by Mike Leigh, UK 1996
Special Mentions
Kauas Pilvet Karkaavat (Wolken ziehen vorüber/Drifting Clouds/Au Loin S´en Vont les Nuages) by Aki Kaurismäki, Finland 1996
A Drifting Life by Lin Cheng-Sheng, Taiwan 1996


De Beaux Lendemains (Das süsse Jenseits/The Sweet Hereafter) by Atom Egoyan, Canada 1997
Special Mention
La Buena Estrella (Lucky Star) by Ricardo Franco, Spain 1997


Eternity and a Day (L´Éternité et un Jour/Die Ewigkeit und ein Tag) by Theo Angelopoulos, Greece 1998


Todo Sobre Mi Madre (All About My Mother/Alles über meine Mutter/Tout Sur Ma Mère) by Pedro Almodovar, Spain 1999
Special Mention
Rosetta by Luc und Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Belgium 1999


Eureka by Aoyama Shinji, Japan 2000  


Safar e Ghandehar (Kandahar/Reise nach Kandahar) by Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Iran 2001 


Mies Vailla Menneisyyttä (Der Mann ohne Vergangenheit/L'Homme Sans Passé/The Man Without A Past) by Aki Kaurismäki, Finland 2002 


Panj é asr (At Five in the Afternoon) by Samira Makhmalbaf, Iran 2003


Award: Diarios de motocicleta (Motorcycle Diaries) by Walter Salles, Argentina/USA 2004
Commendation: Moolaadé by Ousmane Sembène, Senegal/France/Burkina Faso/Cameroon/Morocco/Tunisia 2004


Award: Caché (Hidden) by Michael Haneke, France/Austria/Germany/Italy, 2005
Commendation: Delwende (Lève-toi et marche) by S.Pierre Yameogo, Burkina Faso/France/Suisse, 2005


Award: Babel by Alejandro González Iñárritu, France/USA/Mexico 2006
Commendation (for a film of the Un certain régard section): Z odzysku (Retrieval) by Slawomir Fabicki, Poland 2006


The Edge of Heaven (Auf der anderen Seite) by Fatih Akin, Germany/Turkey 2007


Adoration by Atom Egoyan, Canada 2008


Great Britain, France, Italy, Belgium, Spain
United Kingdom, Spain, Germany, Italy, France
Argentina, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom
Burkina Faso, Switzerland, France, Federal Republic of Germany
Mali, Burkina Faso, France, Federal Republic of Germany, Japan
Federal Republic of Germany, France, United Kingdom, USA