70th Festival de Cannes

17.05.2017 to 28.05.2017

Director Naomi Kawase and actor Masatoshi Nagase at the award ceremony of the Ecumenical Jury

The Japanese drama "Hikari" (Radiant), directed by Naomi Kawase, about the relationship between a writer of audio descriptions of films and a photographer getting blind has won the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury in Cannes 2017. The jury, chaired by INTERFILM's vice-president Denyse Muller, chose its winner among the 19 entries of the International Competition.

The International Jury presided by Pedro Almodóvar awardede the Golden Palm to "The Square" by Swedish director Ruben Östlund. The Grand Jury Prize went to "120 battements per minute" (BPM - Beats Per Minute) by Robin Campillo from France, the Prize for Best Direction to Sofia Coppola for "The Bequiled". "Neljubov" (Loveless) by Andrej Zvjagincev won the Jury Prize.

The Jury of the International Film Critics (FIPRESCI) awarded its competition prize also to "120 battements per minute". Their award ceremony takes place together with the Ecumenical Jury.

Link: Festival website

Link: Website of the Ecumenical Jury

Video: The award ceremony of the Ecumenical Jury


Directed by:

Misako, a young woman who provides audio-description, renders films more accessible for blind people. It is through poetry that this masterpiece allows us to pay more attention, to watch and listen to the world around us. The film allows for new conversations and inspires a broadening of the mind to understand others better.
Hikari explores the responsibility, resilience, hope, and the possibility, even for those in the dark, to see the light. (Photo: © 2017 KINO FILMS - COMME DES CINEMAS - KUMIE)

Hikari: Trailer

More about the festival

At a reception at the Ecumencial Jury festival booth in Cannes Serge Molla was introduced as INTERFILM's new festival delegate. Hans Hodel expressed his thanks for the longtime commitment of his predecessor, Denyse Muller, and presented her Catholic partner, former SIGNIS Europe President Jos Horemans, with an Award of Honor.