Presidium and Board

INTERFILM exists since 1955 and functions with a honorary management. Its activities are supported by churches and cooperation partners such as festivals and filmcultural organisations. It works with an international presidium and an enlarged board. Every three years a general assembly is held for all members of INTERFILM. The actual board was elected at a general assembly held online in 2022.


Members of the Presidium are

President: Prof. Dr. theol. Julia Helmke
Lutheran Pastor, film critic and lecturer, Head of the Department of Theology, Liturgy, Church Music and Spiritual Life in the office of the Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Hannover, Hannover (Germany) 



Executive Director: Karsten Visarius
Film critic, former Head of the Filmcultural Center of the Evangelical Church in Germany, Frankfurt (Germany) 



Vice President: Ingrid Glatz
Protestant Pastor, Co-President of Interfilm Suisse, Bern (Switzerland)


Vizepräsident: Viktor Kókai-Nagy
Theologian and journalist, Budapest (Hungary)


INTERFILM Jury Coordinator
Dietmar Adler
Pastor, Bad Münder (Germany)



Additional members of the Board:

Praxedis Bouwman, Dalfsen/Netherlands
Jacques Champeaux, Issy-les-Moulineaux/France
Peter Ciaccio, Triest/Italy
Christian Engels, Berlin/Germany
Philip Lee, Toronto/Canada
Juha Rajamäki, Helsinki/Finland
Jolyon Mitchell, Edinburgh/United Kingdom
Mia Lund Rao, Brønshøj/Denmark
S. Brent Rodriguez-Plate, Clinton, NY/USA
Johan H. Roeland, Schoonrewoerd/Netherlands
Sofia Sjö, Turku/Finland
Marie Starck, Uppsala/Sweden