Andreas Award at Haugesund 2022

"The Emigrants" by Erik Poppe Wins Prize of the Ecumenical Jury
The Emigrants (Erik Poppe)

Thje Emigrants (Utvandrerne)

"The Emigrants" (Utvandrerne, Sweden, Norway 2022) by Erik Poppe wins the Andreas Award at the 50th Norwegian International Film Festival Haugesund (Augsut 20-26, 2022). The film was chosen by an Ecumenical Jury with the members Rune Steensnæs Engedal, Hanne Jacobsen, Kristin Aalen and Alf Kjetil Walgermo (president of the jury).

Their motivation for their choice reads: "This year’s winner tackles deep questions about cultural and religious identity. An independent and emotional script, built on familiar material. Even though the events in this story are long behind us, the film reminds us of our own present. With convincing directing, acting and cinematography this film presents the challenges of finding your own path and settling down somewhere new, when you, in addition to your own baggage are surrounded by powerful spiritual expectations. The accent between different religions – with their respective prejudices – are central in the film. The jury celebrates the creators ability to explore these existential questions with great artistic value."

The Andreas Award is given by the Norwegian newspaper Vårt Land and a jury appointed by Vårt Land, the Norwegian International Film Festival and Film & Kino.